Research & Innovation week 2018

Program South Africa – Sweden Research & Innovation Week

For more info on any event contact sasuf@uu.se or the organizer (listed below).

14/5 – Monday

Theme 1: Climate change, natural resources and sustainability
09:00- 15:00 Seminar: Land reclamation for sustainable use in South Africa

@Pretoria; Tshwane University of Technology, Prestige Auditorium, Building 21 Pretoria West Campus, Staatsartillerie Road.
Contact info: Ntebogeng Mokgalaka: MokgalakaNS@tut.ac.za
More info: ABSTRACT – LAND RECLAMATION FOR SUSTAINABLE USE IN SA


Theme 1: Climate change, natural resources and sustainability
14.00- 16.00 Seminar: Anthropocene in Africa: towards managing Earth’s climate

@Johannesburg, University of Witwatersrand
Contact info: Janne Rinne: janne.rinne@nateko.lu.se


Theme 2: Transforming Higher Education Curricula
09.00- 17.00 Workshop – Work Integrated Learning: Bridging and transforming the divide between countries, academia and society

@Central University of Technology (CUT), Bloemfontein
Contact info: Per Assmo: per.assmo@hv.se & Henry Jacobs: hjacobs@cut.ac.za


Theme 2: Transforming Higher Education Curricula
08.00 – 15.15 Workshop: Transforming Higher Education Curricula

@Walter Sisulu University, Queenstown
Contact info: Bulelwa Mkabile: bmkabile@wsu.ac.za


Theme 3: Social transformation through change: Knowledge and social development strategies for society
10.00 Workshop: Community engaged research as scholarship enhancing trans-disciplinary platform: Lessons from engaged experiences

@UNIZULU, Mhlathuze, KwaZulu Natal (closest airport – Durban International)
Contact info: Gideon de Wet: DeWetG@unizulu.ac.za

More info (Swedish delegation SASUFMarch schedule)


Theme 4: Understanding the burden of disease in Sweden and South Africa
09.00 Workshop on the monitoring and evaluation of SDG Goal 3: Health

@Durban University of Technology (DUT)
Contact info: Noddy Jinabhai: n.jinabhai@gmail.com

More info: Workshop on the monitoring and evaluation of SDG Goal 3 Health


Theme 5: Urbanisation and Cities in the 21st Century
08.30-15.30 Seminar: The rural-urban dynamic (recommended arrival is Sunday, program continues until 12.30 on Tuesday)

@University of Free State, Bloemfontein
Contact info: Wanda Werster: versterw@ufs.ac.za
More information: Peripheral Activities Proposed Plan draft 3



15/5 Tuesday

Theme 1: Climate change, natural resources and sustainability
09.45- 13.15 Seminar: Sustainable water resources management adapted to global change

@Lafarge Civil Engineering Club, Auckland Park Kingsway campus, University of Johannesburg
Contact info: Miklas Scholz: miklas.scholz@tvrl.lth.se and Ms. Lerato Mahlangu: leratojm@uj.ac.za

More info: Workshop flyer scholz 130418


Theme 1: Climate change, natural resources and sustainability
15.00- 17.00 Network meeting Theme 1

@Pretoria; Tshwane University of Technology, Faculty of Science, Arcadia Campus, 175 Nelson Mandela Drive, Board Room, Building 1-108

Contact info: Ntebogeng Mokgalaka: MokgalakaNS@tut.ac.za


Theme 3: Social transformation through change: Knowledge and social development strategies for society
12.00-16.00 Workshop: Indigenous knowledge systems (IKS) and social transformation

@Department of Science & Technology – Pretoria
Contact info: Gideon de Wet: DeWetG@unizulu.ac.za


Theme 4: Understanding the burden of disease in Sweden and South Africa
09.00 Workshop: Societal intervention to combat childhood obesity: Factors to consider

@Faculty of Health Sciences, University of Fort Hare, 5 Oxford Street, East London
Contact info: Eunice Seekoe; ESeekoe@ufh.ac.za and Peter Bergsten; Peter.Bergsten@mcb.uu.se


Theme 6: Digital technologies, big data and cybersecurity
08.00- 16.00 SASUF Symposium: Digital technologies, big data, and cybersecurity

@Vaal University of Technology (pick-up will be arranged from Pretoria)
Contact info: Moegammat Dolley: moegammatd@vut.ac.za


15.30-17.00 Young Academy of Sweden & South Africa – Workshop: how countries can support young scientists to develop into both successful academic leaders and excellent scientists

@Pretoria
Contact info: Anna Wetterbom: anna.wetterbom@sverigesungaakademi.se 


12.30 – 14.30 ABB, Business Sweden and SASUF: Swedish industry and university collaboration

@Pretoria
Contact info: Gustaf Cars: gustaf.cars@uadm.uu.se


18:30 Opening reception at the Residence of the Swedish Ambassador (by invitation only) 

@Pretoria
Contact info: Gustaf Cars: gustaf.cars@uadm.uu.se


16/5 Wednesday
South Africa – Sweden Research Seminar (by invitation only)

@University of Pretoria, Groenkloof Campus
Contact info: Gustaf Cars: gustaf.cars@uadm.uu.se


17/5 Thursday
South Africa – Sweden Research Seminar  (by invitation only)

@University of Pretoria, Groenkloof Campus
Contact info: Gustaf Cars: gustaf.cars@uadm.uu.se


Alumni & Pre-departure event (by invitation only)

@Swedish Embassy in Pretoria
Contact info: Gustaf Cars: gustaf.cars@uadm.uu.se


18/5 Friday

Theme 1: Climate change, natural resources and sustainability
Seminar: Food waste and food loss and potential for reduction

@Stellenbosch University
Contact info: Dr Paul James Williams: pauljw@sun.ac.za


Theme 1: Climate change, natural resources and sustainability
Seminar: Air quality in South Africa

@North-West University in Potchefstroom
Contact info: Janne Rinne: janne.rinne@nateko.lu.se


Theme 2: Transforming Higher Education Curricula
09.00-17.00 Workshop: Innovations in academic libraries and information systems: perspectives from the South and North

@Durban University of Technology (DUT)
Contact info: Ashleigh Harris: ashleigh.harris@engelska.uu.se & Lucille Elizabeth Webster: websterl@dut.ac.za
More info: Innovations in Academic Libraries and Information Systems
Program: Program Innovations in academic libraries and information systems


Theme 3: Social transformation through change: Knowledge and social development strategies for society
Seminar: The seminar discussion will highlight the analysis of the intersectionalities and axes of oppression and their resistance that are at play for women  in Buffelsjag Bay in a changing policy environment. 

@University of the Western Cape (UWC)
Contact info: Mary Hames: mhames@uwc.ac.za & Moenieba Isaacs: misaacs@plaas.org.za


Theme 4: Understanding the burden of disease in Sweden and South Africa
09.00 Biological factors in childhood obesity

@University of Cape Town, Division of Exercise Science and Sports Medicine (ESSM)
Contact info: Anniza De Villiers; anniza.devilliers@mrc.ac.za and Peter Bergsten; Peter.Bergsten@mcb.uu.se


Theme 4: Understanding the burden of disease in Sweden and South Africa
09.00 E-Health – today and tomorrow

@University of Western Cape (Cape Town)
Contact info: Temitope Tokosi toksymoore@gmail.com and Martin Gellerstedt martin.gellerstedt@hv.se


Theme 5: Urbanisation and cities in the 21st Century
10.00- 13.00: Urban water consumption: Understanding behaviors and attitudes

@University of Cape Town, School of Management Studies, Upper Campus UCT
Contact info: Johan Jansson, LUSEM: johan.jansson@fek.lu.se and James Lappeman, UCT: jlappeman@uct.ac.za

More info: LUSEM-UCT-SASUF-Workshop-18May18_updated


Theme 6: Digital technologies, big data and cybersecurity
Site visit & discussion: Opportunities to collaborate on a joint curriculum and platform, in e-science and data science.  We will give a presentation on the current South African consortium and e-Science platform as well as a tour of our facilities. We invite  Swedish universities to present on their similar or aligned efforts and opportunities.

@Wits University (Johannesburg)
Contact info: Terence Van Zyl: Terence.VanZyl@wits.ac.za


Alumni & Pre-departure event @ Cape Town (by invitation only)
Contact info: Gustaf Cars: gustaf.cars@uadm.uu.se